K.O.A.
Who is who
K.O.A. Around the Globe
Testimonials
What is Kosher?
Why Kosher Certify?
Ask Questions
FAQ
Get Certified
Contact Us
 

 

 What is Kosher
 
WHAT IS KOSHER?


Kosher food is a term that applies to foods that meet standards of being fit for consumption by Jews observant of dietary laws.

Kosher Food can be grouped into three categories:
    1. Foods that are always kosher. These are foods like fruits and vegetables
        that are not processed in any way.
    2. Foods that are processed may be kosher if the ingredients and process
        used, meet kosher criteria and are supervised by a reliable kosher authority.
    3. Foods that can never be kosher, ie. pork or shellfish.

Foods are further classified as: Dairy, Meat, Pareve (neutral – neither Dairy nor Meat, ie. Fish, eggs, fruits and vegetables) and for Passover Use.

Foods acceptable for Passover use involve additional laws which ensure that foods do not contain any kind of leavened products and certain grain products. Production of Passover foods require
extra supervision.

PROCESSED or STORE-BOUGHT FOODS:
Foods that are processed are identified as kosher by a trademark “kosher symbol”, that certifies the food as kosher authorized by a Rabbinical authority. This is usually a rabbinic organization also known as a certification agency, such as the K.O.A.

Producers of food products can contact a K.O.A. representative to have their product kosher certified. A representative will visit their facilities to inspect production methods and contents of the product and issue kosher certification.

Contrary to common myth, a Rabbi does not ”bless” food to render it kosher. To produce a kosher product, all of the ingredients must be kosher certified and processing aids that come in contact with the food. The equipment on which the product will be made must be kosher as well.

The fee charged by kosher certification agencies cover research expenses and inspection of facilities.